Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

April 18, 2013

Sports Buzz

The FIU Athletic Department held its annual Athletic Academic Awards Banquet on Sunday evening at the Graham Center Ballroom. Each of FIU's teams received recognition and honor for its accomplishments throughout the 2012-13 academic year.

Student-athletes, coaches and FIU staff were welcomed by Master of Ceremonies Dr. Bill Beesting. Pete Garcia, Executive Director of Sports and Entertainment, followed with the opening remarks.

Junior La'Shae White, recipient of last year's women's track and field Leadership Award, delivered the invocation. Following a dinner buffet, coaches from each team were given time at the podium to reflect on their team's season and accomplishments. Team-specific awards were given out in addition to various athletic department awards.

Two-time AP All-American Jerica Coley of women's basketball received a standing ovation for her second Student-Athlete of the Year award.

A full listing of 2012-13 award recipients can be found below.

Men's Cross Country

MVP - Daniel Puentes

Women's Cross Country

MVP - Lauren Gonzales

Coach's Award - Krystel Francis

Most Improved - Desmika White

Men's Track and Field

Co-MVP - Marcus Ghent

Co-MVP - Desmond McGill

Most Improved - Ross Hope

Women's Track and Field

Co-MVP - Lakeisha Kelley

Co-MVP - T'Keyah Dumoy

Hustle - Samia Adan

Swimming and Diving

Swimmer of the Year - Johanna Gustafsdottir

Diver of the Year - Sabrina Beaupre

Inspirational Performance of the Year - Sonia Perez

Indoor Volleyball

Offensive MVP - Marija Prsa

Coach's Award - Kimberly Smith

Defensive MVP - Ryanne Milligan


MVP - Carlotta Orlando

Most Improved - Giulietta Boha

Coach's Award - Michelle Sabado

Women's Basketball

MVP - Jerica Coley

Most Improved - Diamond Ashmoore

Coach's Award - Carmen Miloglav

Sand Volleyball

MVP - Kate Stepanova

Most Improved - Tina Toghiyani

Hustle - Jessica Mendoza


Leadership Award - Brie Rojas

Defensive MVP - Corinne Jennkins

Coach's Award - Jessy Alfonso


MVP - Meghan MacLaren

Leadership Award - Tania Tare

Coach's Award - Shelby Coyle

Men's Soccer

Rookie of the Year - Daniel Gonzalez

Defensive MVP - Lyle Lindquist

Offensive MVP - Quentin Albrecht

Men's Basketball

Most Improved - Tymell Murphy

Leadership Award - Malik Smith

Defensive MVP - Deric Hill


Most Improved - Zach Sweety

Hustle - Josh Anderson

Leadership Award - TJ Shantz


Leadership Award - Jose Cheeseborough

Offensive MVP - Darian Mallary

Defensive MVP - Johnathan Cyprien

Women's Soccer

Hustle - Nikki Rios

Offensive MVP - Chelsea Leiva

Coach's Award - Marie Egan

Athletic Department Awards

Academic Excellence Award - 3.87 G.P.A. - Colleen Quinn

Adidas Athletic Director's Award - 3.15 G.P.A. - Swimming and Diving

Student-Athlete of the Year - Jerica Coley

Baseball News:

Bethune-Cookman nipped FIU 4-3 at the FIU Baseball Stadium on Tuesday night. The Wildcats (23-18) scored two runs in both the third and fifth innings and received five shutout innings of relief from their bullpen to preserve the win.

Down 4-1 in the bottom of the fifth inning, the Panthers (20-16) got a two-run home run from Aramis Garcia to close the gap to 4-3. It was Garcia's team-leading eighth home run of the season. Garcia (photo above) collected his 32nd and 33rd RBI. He trails Edwin Rios (34 RBI) for the team lead.

Garcia was 2 for 4 with the home run and two RBI. Nathan Burns was also 2 for 4.

Freshman right-hander Alex Seibold kept the Panthers close by pitching 4 1/3 scoreless innings of relief and struck out four batters. Seibold has now allowed just one earned run in his last 6 2/3 innings of relief.

FIU hits the road for a three-game series at Middle Tennessee beginning Friday in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

Florida International NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos PantherBlitz.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.