Murphy Earns First-Team NABC All-District Honors

Junior Tymell Murphy has been named to the 2013 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 24 Team as announced on Tuesday. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, Murphy earned First-Team All-District honors.
Murphy, who currently ranks No. 16 in the nation and led the Sun Belt Conference in field goal percentage (.573), averaged 14.6 points-per-game (No. 8 in the conference) during the 2012-2013 season. A First-Team All-SBC selection, Murphy averaged a team-high 6.8 rebounds-per-game (No. 6 in the conference), 1.7 steals-per-game (No. 4 in the conference) and 1.1 blocks-per-game (No. 10 in the conference). Murphy totaled 468 points this year, becoming the 17th player in FIU history to post 400-or-more points in a single season.
The Brooklyn, N.Y., native scored in double-figures 29 times, including a career-high 28 points versus Louisiana (1/5/13). He led the Panthers with eight, 20-point outings and registered eight double-doubles (fifth-most in the SBC).
Earlier in the year, Murphy became just the second Panther to record at least 20 points and 20 rebounds in a single game, scoring 24 points and registering 20 boards versus Florida A&M (Jan. 2, 2013). He joins Carlton Phoenix (23 pts., 22 rebs.) as the only two members of the 20-20 club at FIU.
With the recognition, Murphy is one of 242 student-athletes who are now eligible for the NABC Coaches' Division I All-America teams.
Below is the complete All-District 24 team.
First-Team All-District 24
Augustine Rubit (South Alabama)
Marcos Knight (Middle Tennessee)
Tymell Murphy (FIU)
Greg Gantt (Florida Atlantic)
Elfrid Payton (Louisiana)
Second-Team All-District 24
Shawn Long (Louisiana)
Brandon Peterson (Arkansas State)
Will Neighbour (UALR)
Trey Finn (Arkansas State)
Tony Mitchell (North Texas)
George Fant (WKU)