Sports Buzz

The FIU Athletic Department held its annual Athletic Academic Awards Banquet on Sunday evening at the Graham Center Ballroom. Each of FIU's teams received recognition and honor for its accomplishments throughout the 2012-13 academic year.
Student-athletes, coaches and FIU staff were welcomed by Master of Ceremonies Dr. Bill Beesting. Pete Garcia, Executive Director of Sports and Entertainment, followed with the opening remarks.
Junior La'Shae White, recipient of last year's women's track and field Leadership Award, delivered the invocation. Following a dinner buffet, coaches from each team were given time at the podium to reflect on their team's season and accomplishments. Team-specific awards were given out in addition to various athletic department awards.
Two-time AP All-American Jerica Coley of women's basketball received a standing ovation for her second Student-Athlete of the Year award.
A full listing of 2012-13 award recipients can be found below.
Men's Cross Country
MVP - Daniel Puentes
Women's Cross Country
MVP - Lauren Gonzales
Coach's Award - Krystel Francis
Most Improved - Desmika White
Men's Track and Field
Co-MVP - Marcus Ghent
Co-MVP - Desmond McGill
Most Improved - Ross Hope
Women's Track and Field
Co-MVP - Lakeisha Kelley
Co-MVP - T'Keyah Dumoy
Hustle - Samia Adan
Swimming and Diving
Swimmer of the Year - Johanna Gustafsdottir
Diver of the Year - Sabrina Beaupre
Inspirational Performance of the Year - Sonia Perez
Indoor Volleyball
Offensive MVP - Marija Prsa
Coach's Award - Kimberly Smith
Defensive MVP - Ryanne Milligan
MVP - Carlotta Orlando
Most Improved - Giulietta Boha
Coach's Award - Michelle Sabado
Women's Basketball
MVP - Jerica Coley
Most Improved - Diamond Ashmoore
Coach's Award - Carmen Miloglav
Sand Volleyball
MVP - Kate Stepanova
Most Improved - Tina Toghiyani
Hustle - Jessica Mendoza
Leadership Award - Brie Rojas
Defensive MVP - Corinne Jennkins
Coach's Award - Jessy Alfonso
MVP - Meghan MacLaren
Leadership Award - Tania Tare
Coach's Award - Shelby Coyle
Men's Soccer
Rookie of the Year - Daniel Gonzalez
Defensive MVP - Lyle Lindquist
Offensive MVP - Quentin Albrecht
Men's Basketball
Most Improved - Tymell Murphy
Leadership Award - Malik Smith
Defensive MVP - Deric Hill
Most Improved - Zach Sweety
Hustle - Josh Anderson
Leadership Award - TJ Shantz
Leadership Award - Jose Cheeseborough
Offensive MVP - Darian Mallary
Defensive MVP - Johnathan Cyprien
Women's Soccer
Hustle - Nikki Rios
Offensive MVP - Chelsea Leiva
Coach's Award - Marie Egan
Athletic Department Awards
Academic Excellence Award - 3.87 G.P.A. - Colleen Quinn
Adidas Athletic Director's Award - 3.15 G.P.A. - Swimming and Diving
Student-Athlete of the Year - Jerica Coley
Baseball News:
Bethune-Cookman nipped FIU 4-3 at the FIU Baseball Stadium on Tuesday night. The Wildcats (23-18) scored two runs in both the third and fifth innings and received five shutout innings of relief from their bullpen to preserve the win.
Down 4-1 in the bottom of the fifth inning, the Panthers (20-16) got a two-run home run from Aramis Garcia to close the gap to 4-3. It was Garcia's team-leading eighth home run of the season. Garcia (photo above) collected his 32nd and 33rd RBI. He trails Edwin Rios (34 RBI) for the team lead.
Garcia was 2 for 4 with the home run and two RBI. Nathan Burns was also 2 for 4.
Freshman right-hander Alex Seibold kept the Panthers close by pitching 4 1/3 scoreless innings of relief and struck out four batters. Seibold has now allowed just one earned run in his last 6 2/3 innings of relief.
FIU hits the road for a three-game series at Middle Tennessee beginning Friday in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.